A number of people have asked for some answers about the recent changes on Facebook. These are bits from the Facebook help pages.. to make it easier to get the answers I will be posting a few Q&As.. from the Help area..
What is subscribe?
Hear from people you’re interested in, even if you’re not friends
You’ve always been subscribed to friends. Now you can keep up with journalists, celebrities, political figures and other people you’re interested in too. You can get their public updates in your News Feed by going to their profile (timeline) and clicking on theSubscribe button. Once you subscribe, you can see their public posts in your News Feed
.Fine tune your News Feed
When you’re subscribed to someone, you can choose what to see from them in your News Feed. Use the Subscribed button at the top of someone’s profile (timeline) tochoose the type of updates you’d like to see from them in your News Feed.
How do I manage my settings for subscribers?
After you click Allow Subscribers, your settings will appear (see the Edit Settings button on your Subscribers tab). From there, you can edit your comment and notifications settings. If you want to update these settings later,
- From your profile (timeline), click the Subscribers link on the left menu
- Click the Edit Settings button in the top right
- Subscribers: Click “On” to allow people outside of your friends to subscribe to your public updates.
- Comments: Click “On” to allow people outside of your friends of friends to comment on your public updates.
- Notifications: Choose when you’d like to be notified when someone new subscribes to your public updates. Choose “No One” if you never want to be notified of new subscribers. If you’d like notifications about new subscribers, decide between notifications about Everyone or only Friends of Friends.
How do I see who is subscribed to me?
Please note: If you already allow subscribers, people who send friend requests that you ignore, delete or hide will become subscribers. People you unfriend will also become your subscribers. If you don’t want a specific person to subscribe to your public updates, or want to disconnect from a specific subscriber, you can block them at any time.
If you’ve allowed subscribers, you can see the people who have subscribed to you by clicking the Subscribers box on your profile (timeline).
Friend Subscribers: Friends are subscribed to you by default, this means they may see your posts in News Feed.
Public Subscribers: These are people you’re not friends with who subscribe to your public updates.
When you allow anyone to subscribe to your public updates, you’ll get to choose notification settings. If you do not edit your settings, you will only receive notifications when friends of friends become your subscribers.
If you don’t want a specific person to subscribe to you, or want to disconnect from a specific subscriber, you can block them at any time.